Pieces

And I promise the broken pieces assemble just right
Take the time to put me back together
And this heart of mine can still love
But first love me to show me that I can be loved again.
I can’t dream with my eyes open
So give me a reason to close my eyes in front of you,
And if I can trust myself to stand still
I may find myself dreaming of you.
But don’t expect me to tell you I hurt.
Too many times I have been stabbed
When I have let my defense down.
I may be broken,
But I won’t surrender my sanity just yet
There is enough breath in me left to build myself again.
So walk away if you think you can’t handle me this way
I’ll start all over again.
If you choose to stay then, choose to love every piece of me
Even if all the pieces don’t fit like they used to anymore,
And I’ll promise to do the same.

Leave a comment