The Place Where We Meet Again

Hey, I miss you.

I know you do.

Then why did you leave?

Because I had to.

Seriously? That’s your best line?

What if that is the truth?

That doesn’t justify you leaving me.

But I wasn’t leaving you; I still am not. I just left life.

And ours wasn’t connected.

Was it?

You tell me?

May be it was in ways I didn’t understand then.

It definitely was. Isn’t that why I miss you?

You miss who I was to you…

Wasn’t that you?

It was, and it wasn’t.

I know that now, but you know, I really didn’t know then.

I know.

I didn’t know you needed me.

I hear you.

Why didn’t you tell me you needed me?

I didn’t know how else to say it.

Meaning you already did?

Didn’t I?

Did you?

I don’t know anymore.

Neither do I. You know, I am bad at interpreting gestures. May be I missed your gestures.

May be you did.

You should have used words.

May be I should have. May be I couldn’t.

Don’t you remember?

It was so long ago.

It hasn’t been very long you know. I mean if more time has passed, shouldn’t this pain heal?

Didn’t it already heal?

Does it hurt like this if you heal?

I guess you could think of it like a bone breaking. A lot of pain until you start walking again.

I don’t know what I want more – to sit down or to start running with my broken bones and all.

You know how bones heal?

Like every other thing.

Yes, but with rest and exercise.

I think I want to sleep now.

Okay. Close your eyes then.

You have to go away first.

Why?

I can’t dream with your voice in my mind.

So I am a nightmare now!

No, just something I don’t know what to do with, anymore.

Hey, you know, I miss you too.

Do you?

You know I do.

I wish you did.

Then?

You wouldn’t go.

I am still here.

But you are not real.

No I am not.

I wish you were…. Hello? You there?

I am already gone, stupid. Who are you still talking to? Shh. Don’t answer. Just close your eyes and go to sleep. Tomorrow, you’ll see, everything will be okay.

Promise?

Leave a comment